R.I.P. Bob Booth

I am deeply saddened to hear about the passing of Bob Booth, AKA Papa Necon. Another of the old guard is gone. Though I’d corresponded with Bob over the years, I only got to meet him for the first time at Necon this summer, and it was easy to see why he was so well-regarded. The man genuinely loved the genre and all its purveyors, and that affection and respect was evident. To him, all of us were family and he treated us as such.

My thoughts and condolences go out to Mary, Sara, Jillian, and Dan Booth, Matt Bechtel, and all who were closest to him. If there is any consolation to be found in this tragic news, it is that at last his suffering is over, and he’s in a better place, most likely sharing a chuckle with Rick Hautala, Charlie Grant, Les Daniels, and all the Neconites who preceded him beyond the veil.

R.I.P. Papa.

2 thoughts on “R.I.P. Bob Booth

Leave a Reply

