THE SEVEN: Brian James Freeman

Continuing my interview series THE SEVEN, in which I invite some of my favorite authors to answer seven questions about their most recent projects, today’s guest is an old friend of mine, author, editor, publisher, and entrepreneur Brian James Freeman. Brian is not only a wonderful author in his own right, he has also been instrumental, via his work at Cemetery Dance Publications, in bringing some of my own work to print. In light of all he’s got going on lately, I thought it a good idea to invite him along to share the news of his achievements.

* * *

Q. What is your most recent release?

For the book line at Cemetery Dance Publications, I’m currently neck deep in production on Doctor Sleep by Stephen King and twenty other terrific books we’ll be publishing this year.

For Cemetery Dance magazine, we just announced our “End of the World” special issue, which includes short stories by Simon Clark, Kaaron Warren, and a fine author named Kealan Patrick Burke.  There’s also an excerpt from Brian Hodge’s new novella, The Weight of the Dead, and non-fiction including The Stand: Trivia From the End of the World.

For Lonely Road Books, I’m working with Guillermo del Toro to publish the last two volumes of The Strain trilogy.

For my own writing, I’ve just published revised trade paperback and eBook editions of my novella Blue November Storms.  This new edition features a revised version of the text, an exclusive introduction by Ray Garton in which he explains why you should never (ever!) go into the woods, 20 original illustrations by Glenn Chadbourne, a beautiful new cover painting by Vincent Chong, a bonus interview with Chadbourne about his artwork, and a new afterword I wrote explaining how the story got written in the first place.

Finally, in March I launched two new websites devoted to highlighting high quality horror and mystery eBooks at the best prices available – sometimes even free.  Authors I’ve featured include Stephen King, William Peter Blatty, Clive Barker, Robert McCammon, Richard Matheson, Dean Koontz, Joe Hill, Dan Brown, Michael Koryta, and many others.

The websites are:

http://www.eHorrorBargains.com

http://www.eMysteryBargains.com

Q. What inspired these projects?

The new edition of Blue November Storms has been a long time in the works because readers kept asking if there was a way to read the book without paying the high prices for the Limited Edition on the secondary market.  It was fun to revisit that world again one more time and this gave me the chance to fix a few problems.

The Bargain eBook websites were a spontaneous project after a poster on the Cemetery Dance Forums pointed out that Swan Song by Robert McCammon was available for a ridiculously low price like $2.99.  I realized I had been missing out on some incredible deals and other readers probably had been, too.

Q. What is the primary theme you’ve chosen to explore with this project?

Blue November Storms explores classic “man vs. nature” territory while touching on how secrets from our teenage years can still come back to haunt us as adults.

Q. Of everything you’ve written to date, which project has been the most difficult for you?

It’s a jive answer, but all of them.  Even the short stories.  I’m never happier than when I’m writing and editing, yet at the end of the process I wonder if I’ll ever manage to do it again.

Q. Which title would you suggest as a good introduction for newcomers to your work, and why?

Definitely The Painted Darkness.  It’s a novella that hits on a lot of the themes and motifs I like to explore in my work.

Q. What are your thoughts on the burgeoning digital market?

I’m extremely excited about the possibilities for authors and publishers to reach new readers.  Obviously, I’m a fan of heavily discounted eBooks as a reader, but I also worry about whether the way eBook prices have been driven so low will affect the ability of all but a few authors to make a living with their work.  You have to sell a lot of 99 cent eBooks to pay the mortgage.  Of course, most traditionally published fiction authors haven’t been able to pay the mortgage from their writing in a long time, either.  So I embrace the fact that the marketplace is changing and I look forward to seeing where we’re headed.

Q. What’s up next for you?

I have a novel that’s been in the works for seven or eight years now that I’d like to finally put to bed.  I always have a lot of projects going at Cemetery Dance and Lonely Road Books, of course.  And I hope to keep expanding the eHorrorBargains.com network to new genres this summer.

Thanks, Kealan!  This has been fun!

2 thoughts on “THE SEVEN: Brian James Freeman

  1. Pingback: Brian James Freeman versus Kealan Patrick Burke and THE SEVEN! | Brian James Freeman

  2. Pingback: Brian James Freeman versus Kealan Patrick Burke and THE SEVEN! | Author Brian James Freeman

Leave a Reply

