Wicked Somethings This Way Come

Many of my loyal readers may have noticed that 2010 was something of a sparse year in terms of book releases for me. This was due mainly to the fact that the past 18 months or so saw some dramatic changes in both my personal and professional life. There were health complications and heartbreaks, the acquisition of a full-time day job, and sundry other developments I won’t bore you with here. I wrote practically nothing since the summer of 2009–a short story here, an introduction there, perhaps, but nothing much more than that.

In 2011, all of that will change. Though the return was not an easy one, and I almost gave up more than once, in the past few months I have been back at the keyboard and writing up a storm.

So, while I can’t give you the specifics until the publisher announces them (you all know the drill by now), I can tell you a little about what’s coming.

SHORT STORIES:

  • “Cobwebs” (originally published in Postscripts 11) will be reprinted in SHIVERS VI, featuring stories by Stephen King, Peter Straub, Al Sarrantonio, Jay Bonansinga, David B Silva, Melanie Tem, Brian Keene, Glen Hirshberg and others.
  • I will also have an untitled segment in Cemetery Dance’s THE CRANE HOUSE: A HALLOWEEN STORY, a haunted house tale told round robin style by myself, Brian Keene, Al Sarrantonio, Rick Hautala, Bev Vincent, Brian James Freeman, James A. Moore, James Newman, Ronald Kelly, Norman Prentiss and Ray Garton.
  • Expect “Stalled”, my story of one unfortunate man’s encounter with bad gas station food, in a long-anticipated anthology from ******, sometime in 2011.
  • My teleplay for “Snowmen” (which was published in short story form in both Cemetery Dance #54, and in illustrated form in Grave Tales #5), will appear in Richard Chizmar’s anthology SMOKE & MIRRORS, featuring work by Neil Gaiman, Joe R. Lansdale, William Peter Blatty, Frank Darabont, Mick Garris, Brian Keene & Mike Oliveri, William F. Nolan, Joe Hill, Stewart O’ Nan, Ray Garton, and Poppy Z. Brite.

NOVELLAS:

  • Next year you should see JACK & JILL, an extremely grim piece of work, and the longest story I’ve written in quite some time, from a publisher I can’t yet announce.
  • Ditto a new Milestone story (the setting for my novel CURRENCY OF SOULS), entitled THIRTY MILES SOUTH OF DRY COUNTY from another publisher I can’t yet announce.

NOVELS:

  • I’m excited for everyone to read KIN, my longest and most violent novel to date. I mention the violence not solely to shamelessly appeal to those for whom such things are essential, but because the very theme of the novel is an exploration of violence, and revenge. Look for it in the New Year from **************…!!!
  • Of interest probably only to readers in Poland, 2011 will see the mass market paperback release of my novel CURRENCY OF SOULS from respected fantasy publisher Prosynski Media.

Assuming I write nothing else between now and the end of the year, the above is a fairly accurate list of what’s coming. But of course, I have no intention of resting on my laurels. Already in the works are the final Timmy Quinn story, NEMESIS (at last, you say!), a new novel, THE 9INTH FLOOR, and at least four novellas I have promised to editors.

I hope you’re as excited about these releases as I am. And I promise, if you keep reading the work, I’ll keep writing it.

It’s good to be back.

–Kealan

2 thoughts on “Wicked Somethings This Way Come

  1. Pingback: Rising from the Ashes: Kealan Patrick Burke

Leave a Reply

