THE GUTTER MARGIN (or How e-Publishing Saved Me)

The lovely and immensely talented screenwriter and author Alexandra Sokoloff recently invited me to write a guest post for her blog. I chose to use the opportunity to discuss my publishing journey from the very beginning to where it is now. I’m immensely gratified that the article seems to be resonating with quite a few people. If nothing else, it’s a story about not giving up even when reason suggests it as the best course of action.

 

You can read the article here:

http://www.screenwritingtricks.com/2012/10/the-gutter-margin-or-how-e-publishing.html

One thought on “THE GUTTER MARGIN (or How e-Publishing Saved Me)

  1. Reblogged this on dan-harris.net and commented:
    An inspiring piece from Kealan Patrick Burke on how self-publishing kickstarted a writing career he’d thought dead.
    “In September of 2010, I put The Turtle Boy and some short stories up for sale. I followed it with The Hides, and eventually the other books in the Timmy Quinn series. By the end of the year, I’d managed to sell a grand total of 101 books, and made $134.00. And I was pleased. My expectations going into it had been grounded and realistic, because if my almost a decade in the small press had taught me anything, it was that lightning in a bottle is usually something that happens to other people. Try to duplicate it and you’re setting yourself up for disappointment. And this was alien territory for me. So when I started, I expected nothing to happen, that my books would remain just as forgotten in their digital box as their physical counterparts had. When the books started to sell a copy here and there, I was delighted. The sales were just enough to cover the gas bill every month, and I thought that was pretty damn cool.”

Leave a Reply

